The children at the Playgroup work within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). This is a document setting the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five which aims to meet the needs of the individual, as such, the EYFS helps the staff plan activities and support the children in their individual needs.

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early year’s experts and parents.

It sets out: –

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare
  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessment’s that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year. These expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals” (ELGS)

There is also guidance for the professionals supporting your child on planning the learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how your child is learning and developing.

How will my child be learning?
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Our staff will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

The progress check at age 2
Between the ages of 2 and 3 we will give you a written summary of how your child is progressing against the 3 prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

This check will highlight areas where your child is progressing well and also areas where they might need some extra help or support, and how parents/carers and other family members can work with their child’s key person to help. You might find it useful to share the information from the check with other professionals such as health visitors.

Where can I go for further information?
The Early Years Foundation Stage, which includes the early learning goals, can be located at The website also includes a range of resources and contacts.

Text size: A A A

Latest News

  • Latest News

    Welcome to our website, we hope you enjoy it! Please check back regularly to find out our news and updates. Nov 2020 Feb 2020 Jan 2020 Nov 2019 Sept 2019              ...